Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register

Kitebuilder.com Forum Index » Single Line Kite Design & Construction

Building A 36FT Delta Double Conyne
View previous topic :: View next topic :: View posts since last visit 
Barry T

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:37 pm    Post subject: Building A 36FT Delta Double Conyne Reply with quote

Hello Everybody,
I'm not new at all, to kiting. I've been flying for about 20 years, in my adult life. We fly mostly big stuff now,Sutton 450,s 252,s, a360sq.ft. Harry Osborne Flow Foil, and I could go on, but you get the picture. We bought all these kites.Now, I want to make one. I've made a couple 170' tube tails, and countless sand anchors, so I've got the straight stitch down pretty good. That's one reason I chose the conyne. I find the information on this site invaluable, and will be using the info I've read so far. Any additional info, or tips, or tricks I could use would be deeply appreciated. I know it's a BIG project, for my first kitebuild, but I'm confident I can do this. I'll be asking many questions for sure,so bear with me. Laughing I'm using silicone impregnated 1.5oz Ripstop. I've worked with this stuff before. It's so slick, it's the hardest Ripstop to work with,I think. What's the best way to keep the panels from slipping, and bunching as I sew them together? I used seam tape before, but that didn't work too well, as nothing really sticks to this fabric. I went with the silicone, as opposed to the poly backed, because it's stronger. Given the size of the kite, I wanted the stronger of the two. Thanks for all your help. Barry
Fore Check
Grand Champion, Kite, & Kitebuilder of the Year 09
Grand Champion, Kite, & Kitebuilder of the Year 09

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you considered "hot tacking"?

Doug LaRock would be an excellent resource in putting together a delta-type kite of this size. Hope you post some pics!